How The Thunder Were Built

The Oklahoma City Thunder may have become the odds-on favorites for the NBA title earlier than expected, but the team's roster wasn't constructed overnight. Some members of the Thunder have been on the team long enough to have played in Seattle as the SuperSonics, while others were just added within the last few months. With the Thunder holding a 1-0 lead over the Heat in the 2012 NBA Finals, let's take a look at how GM Sam Presti and the Oklahoma City front office built the 2011/12 Thunder, from Nick Collison in 2003 to Derek Fisher in 2012:

Nick Collison: Drafted with the 12th overall pick in 2003. Signed a four-year extension in 2006 and another four-year extension in 2010.
Kevin Durant: Drafted with the 2nd overall pick in 2007. Signed a five-year extension in 2010.
Russell Westbrook: Drafted with the 4th overall pick in 2008. Signed a five-year extension in 2012.
Serge Ibaka: Drafted with the 24th overall pick in 2008.
Thabo Sefolosha: Acquired from the Bulls for a first-round pick that became Taj Gibson (February 19, 2009). Signed a four-year extension in 2009.
James Harden: Drafted with the 3rd overall pick in 2009.
Eric Maynor: Acquired from the Jazz with Matt Harpring for Peter Fehse (December 22, 2009).
Daequan Cook: Acquired from the Heat with a first-round pick that became Eric Bledsoe for a second-round pick that became Dexter Pittman (June 23, 2010). Signed a two-year extension in 2011.
Cole Aldrich: Acquired from the Hornets with Morris Peterson for Craig Brackins and Quincy Pondexter (June 24, 2010).
Royal Ivey: Signed a two-year deal as a free agent (July 21, 2010).
Kendrick Perkins: Acquired from the Celtics with Nate Robinson for Jeff Green, Nenad Krstic, and a future first-round pick (February 24, 2011). Signed four-year extension in 2011.
Nazr Mohammed: Acquired from the Bobcats for Morris Peterson and D.J. White (February 24, 2011).
Reggie Jackson: Drafted with the 24th overall pick in 2011.
Lazar Hayward: Acquired from the Timberwolves for two future second-round picks (December 13, 2011).
Derek Fisher: Signed a one-year deal as a free agent (March 21, 2012). —–

newest oldest

One thought on “How The Thunder Were Built

  1. baseball52

    The Sefolosha deal was definitely a win-win for both teams.


Leave a Reply

dziennika egzotyczny pieścić medycyny centrum medyczne zdrowie Denver