Spurs Lead West With Twelve Returnees

Success has bred stability for the San Antonio Spurs. They have the league’s longest-tenured head coach, its fourth-longest-tenured GM, three players leftover from their championship squad from more than 10 years ago, and a Western Conference-leading dozen players back from last year’s Finals. That’s more than any other team in the league except the Heat, who also bring back 12 of the guys who edged the Spurs for the championship in June.

The Nuggets have 11 returnees from the end of last season, just one fewer than the Spurs, but nearly every other part of Denver’s basketball operations is new, including GM Tim Connelly and coach Brian Shaw. The Thunder hemorrhaged more talent this summer, losing Kevin Martin just months after trading away James Harden, but they, too, kept 11 of the players from last year’s disappointing playoff exit.

The Rockets made the offseason’s most noteworthy addition in Dwight Howard, but they’ve otherwise remained relatively stable, keeping 10 players. All four Western Conference teams with 10 or more holdovers made the playoffs last season, in contrast to the Eastern Conference, where three of the four teams who returned at least 10 players were in the lottery.

A pair of Western teams that didn’t make the playoffs were particularly active in turning over their rosters. The Mavericks bring back just six guys from the team that made a late-season run at a playoff berth last year, while the Suns have only five players left from their worst season in 44 years. Five is also the number of trades new Phoenix GM Ryan McDonough has pulled off since he assumed his post in May.

Here are each Western Conference team’s holdovers from the end of last season. We also ran down the Eastern Conference returnees earlier this week.

Spurs (12): Manu GinobiliTony ParkerTim DuncanBoris DiawTiago SplitterMatt BonnerDanny GreenKawhi LeonardNando De ColoPatty MillsCory JosephAron Baynes

Nuggets (11): JaVale McGee, Danilo Gallinari, Wilson Chandler, Andre Miller, Timofey Mozgov, Ty Lawson, Anthony Randolph, Evan Fournier, Kenneth Faried, Jordan Hamilton, Quincy Miller

Thunder (11): Kevin DurantRussell WestbrookKendrick PerkinsThabo SefoloshaNick CollisonSerge IbakaJeremy LambReggie JacksonHasheem ThabeetPerry Jones IIIDerek Fisher

Rockets (10): Omer AsikJeremy LinFrancisco GarciaJames HardenAaron BrooksTerrence JonesDonatas MotiejunasChandler ParsonsGreg SmithPatrick Beverley

Grizzlies (9): Zach RandolphMarc GasolMike ConleyTayshaun PrinceTony AllenJerryd BaylessEd DavisQuincy PondexterJon Leuer

Kings (9): John SalmonsMarcus ThorntonChuck HayesJason ThompsonDeMarcus CousinsTravis OutlawJimmer FredettePatrick PattersonIsaiah Thomas

Pelicans (9): Eric GordonRyan AndersonAnthony DavisAl-Farouq AminuJason SmithAustin RiversLance ThomasDarius MillerBrian Roberts

Clippers (8): Chris PaulDeAndre JordanBlake GriffinJamal CrawfordWillie GreenMatt BarnesRyan HollinsMaalik Wayns

Timberwolves (8): Kevin LoveDerrick WilliamsNikola PekovicJose BareaRicky RubioAlexey ShvedDante CunninghamChase Budinger

Trail Blazers (8): LaMarcus AldridgeNicolas BatumWesley MatthewsDamian LillardJoel FreelandMeyers LeonardVictor ClaverWill Barton

Warriors (8): Andrew Bogut, David Lee, Stephen Curry, Harrison Barnes, Klay Thompson, Festus Ezeli, Draymond Green, Kent Bazemore

Jazz (7): Marvin WilliamsDerrick FavorsEnes KanterGordon HaywardAlec BurksJeremy EvansJamaal Tinsley

Lakers (7): Kobe BryantPau GasolSteve NashSteve BlakeJordan HillJodie MeeksRobert Sacre

Mavericks (6): Dirk NowitzkiShawn MarionVince CarterBrandan WrightJae CrowderBernard James

Suns (5): Goran Dragic, Channing Frye, Markieff Morris, Marcus Morris, P.J. Tucker

View Comments (0)