The new system enables teams to qualify for the 32-team World Cup in China, but since some qualifiers will occur during the NBA season, NBA players will not be available. While one representative on the six-person committee is yet to be named, the other five people will consist of several NBA D-League executives (Trajan Langdon, Adam Simon, and Tony Bollier) and USA Basketball men’s national team director Sean Ford (committee chairman).
Team USA would likely enjoy homecourt advantage at several NBA D-League arenas starting this November. As the AP report describes, “nations will be drawn into four-team groups and play home-and-away games within their zone.” The first round is scheduled for late November through July 2018 whereas the second round will start in late August 2018 and carry on through late February of 2019.