NBA Rescinds Luka Doncic’s 16th Technical Foul

The NBA has rescinded Luka Doncic‘s 16th technical foul and he will not be suspended for Monday’s game at Indiana, the league announced (via Twitter). The Mavericks‘ star guard was originally issued the technical in the third quarter of Sunday’s loss at Charlotte.

After the game, crew chief Kevin Scott said the officials made the right call in assessing a technical on Doncic because he used profane language, per Callie Caplan of The Dallas Morning News.

“Doncic was assessed a technical foul for his use of profanity directed at the officials in protest to a no-call that was correctly judged in postgame video review,” Scott said.

Apparently the NBA disagreed with Scott’s assessment.

Players are automatically suspended for one game without pay once they reach 16 technical fouls unless they are later rescinded, as is the case with Doncic. It would have been his first suspension, according to Caplan.

It remains to be seen whether Doncic will actually suit up for Monday’s game even though he won’t be suspended. It’s the second of a back-to-back, and he has only played in one out of five back-to-back sets this season. He also missed five games earlier this month with a left thigh strain, so it wouldn’t be surprising if he sat out, despite Dallas’ precarious spot in the standings.

The Mavs have lost seven of their past nine games — including four straight — to drop to 36-39, the No. 11 seed in the West. Losing two straight to the Hornets was particularly disappointing, as Charlotte has the fourth-worst record in the league and had multiple starters out with injuries in both games.

Doncic, who was fined $35K last week for “directing an inappropriate and unprofessional gesture” toward a referee, recently talked about his heightened level of frustration, not just with the team’s poor play, but due to personal issues as well.

View Comments (13)