Groups, Hosts Announced For 2024 Olympic Qualifying Tournaments

The 2024 Olympic qualifying tournaments will take place in Spain, Latvia, Greece, and Puerto Rico and will be played from July 2-7, FIBA confirmed on Monday.

A total of 12 men’s basketball teams will compete at the 2024 Olympics in Paris and eight of those spots have already been claimed. Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Japan, Serbia, South Sudan, and the U.S. have punched their tickets to Paris.

Twenty-four nations will compete in four six-team tournaments this July for the right to secure one of the final four Olympic basketball berths. In addition to confirming the host cities, FIBA also completed the draw for each of those tournaments on Monday. Here are those results:

Valencia, Spain

  • Group A: Angola, Lebanon, Spain
  • Group B: Bahamas, Finland, Poland

San Juan, Puerto Rico

  • Group A: Ivory Coast, Lithuania, Mexico
  • Group B: Bahrain, Italy, Puerto Rico

Riga, Latvia

  • Group A: Georgia, Latvia, Philippines
  • Group B: Brazil, Cameroon, Montenegro

Piraeus, Greece

  • Group A: Croatia, New Zealand, Slovenia
  • Group B: Dominican Republic, Egypt, Greece

Each team will play two round robin games against the other teams in each group. At that point, the third-place teams in each group will be eliminated, while the first-place team from Group A will face the second-place team in Group B — and vice versa.

The winners of those semifinal matchups will then play one another in the final and the winner of that game will clinch a spot in the Olympics, which are scheduled to begin on July 26, 2024.

View Comments (8)