NBA Introduces New Competition Committee

Last month, the NBA's board of governors voted to change the composition of the league's Competition Committee to include two owners, four general managers, three coaches, and one representative of the players' association. Today, the league announced the members of the new committee. The NBPA has yet to designate its representative, but the rest of the members are as follows:

  • Dan Gilbert, owner (Cavaliers)
  • Joe Lacob, owner (Warriors)
  • Bryan Colangelo, GM (Raptors)
  • Mitch Kupchak, GM (Lakers)
  • Kevin O'Connor, GM (Jazz)
  • Sam Presti, GM (Thunder)
  • Rick Carlisle, coach (Mavericks)
  • Lionel Hollins, coach (Grizzlies)
  • Doc Rivers, coach (Celtics)

The Competition Committee will be responsible for suggesting format or rule changes to the league's board of governors, which will then vote on whether or not to implement the recommendations. Previously, the committee was made up of the NBA's 30 general managers — that group has been reconstituted as the General Managers Committee, and will meet annually to discuss the state of the game and competition-related matters.

"The Board decided that the inclusion of owners and head coaches on the Competition Committee would add valuable perspectives to discussions about our game and how it might be improved," said Joel Litvin, NBA president of league operations. "At the same time, we will continue to receive input on competition and rules matters from all 30 teams through the General Managers Committee."

Leave a Reply

dziennika egzotyczny pieścić medycyny centrum medyczne zdrowie Denver