Longest-Tenured GMs In The NBA

Over a quarter of the NBA's 30 teams have made significant front office changes since the 2011/12 season ended, with nine clubs hiring or promoting executives for their general manager openings. But while many teams are making changes, a number of GMs have been with their current franchises for years, or even decades.

Most of their names at the top of our list of longest-tenured GMs are to be expected — Pat Riley, Joe Dumars, Mitch Kupchak, R.C. Buford, and Danny Ainge make up five of the top six, and each have brought championship banners to their respective franchises since taking over. Still, there are a few surprises, including the number one longest-tenured GM: Geoff Petrie of the Kings.

Not all of the executives listed below necessarily have the title of "general manager," as many top execs are their team's president of basketball operations, or hold a similar title. For clubs that have both a a general manager and a president of basketball ops, the GM is listed below, with the president indicated in parentheses.

Here's the list of the longest-tenured GMs in the NBA, along with the date they assumed the role:

  1. Geoff Petrie, Kings: June 1994
  2. Pat Riley, Heat: September 1995
  3. Joe Dumars, Pistons: June 2000
  4. Mitch Kupchak, Lakers: August 2000
  5. R.C. Buford, Spurs: July 2002
  6. Danny Ainge, Celtics: May 2003
  7. Ernie Grunfeld, Wizards: June 2003
  8. Donnie Nelson, Mavericks: June 2005
  9. Bryan Colangelo, Raptors: February 2006
  10. Daryl Morey, Rockets: May 2007
  11. Sam Presti, Thunder: June 2007
  12. Chris Wallace, Grizzlies: June 2007
  13. John Hammond, Bucks: April 2008
  14. Gar Forman, Bulls: May 2009
  15. David Kahn, Timberwolves: May 2009
  16. Chris Grant, Cavaliers: June 2010
  17. Billy King, Nets: July 2010
  18. Dell Demps, Hornets: July 2010
  19. Lance Blanks, Suns: August 2010 (Lon Babby is president of basketball operations)
  20. Masai Ujiri, Nuggets: August 2010
  21. Glen Grunwald, Knicks: June 2011 (as interim GM; became permanent in April 2012)
  22. Rich Cho, Bobcats: June 2011 (Rod Higgins is president of basketball operations)
  23. Bob Myers, Warriors: April 2012
  24. Neil Olshey, Trail Blazers: June 2012
  25. Rob Hennigan, Magic: June 2012
  26. Danny Ferry, Hawks: June 2012
  27. Kevin Pritchard, Pacers: June 2012 (Donnie Walsh is president of basketball operations)
  28. Dennis Lindsey, Jazz: August 2012 (Kevin O'Connor is executive VP of basketball operations)
  29. Gary Sacks, Clippers: September 2012
  30. Tony DiLeo, Sixers: September 2012

Leave a Reply

dziennika egzotyczny pieścić medycyny http://kupicpigulki.pl/ centrum medyczne zdrowie Denver