Players Who Can’t Be Traded Until January 15

As we detailed on Thursday, players who signed new contracts as free agents during the 2017/18 league year can’t be traded for three months or until December 15, whichever comes later. That means that nearly every team has at least one player – and generally a handful – who won’t become trade-eligible until mid-December.

As we alluded to in that article, there’s also a small subset of free agent signees whose trade ineligibility lasts for another month. These players all meet a specific set of criteria: Not only did they re-sign with their previous team this offseason, but they got a raise of at least 20%, their salary is worth more than the minimum, and their team was over the cap, using Bird or Early Bird rights to sign them.

Listed below are the players who meet this criteria and can’t be traded until at least January 15, 2018. Players who have the ability to veto trades in 2017/18 are marked with an asterisk. We’ll continue to update this page over the next few months, if necessary.

Chicago Bulls

Cleveland Cavaliers

Denver Nuggets

Golden State Warriors

Los Angeles Clippers

Memphis Grizzlies

Milwaukee Bucks

New Orleans Pelicans

Oklahoma City Thunder

San Antonio Spurs

Toronto Raptors

Utah Jazz

Washington Wizards

Information from Basketball Insiders and ESPN was used in the creation of this post.

View Comments (0)