Gregg Popovich Wins Coach Of The Year

Gregg Popovich has won the NBA’s Coach of the Year award, the league announced, joining Pat Riley and Don Nelson as the only three-time winners of the honor. It’s the second such award in three years for the Spurs coach, who was also the top coach in 2012 and 2003.

Popovich garnered 59 out of a possible 124 first-place votes, with Jeff Hornacek of the Suns finishing second in just his first season as an NBA coach. Tom Thibodeau finished third, followed by Steve Clifford, Dwane Casey, Terry Stotts and Doc Rivers among coaches who received first-place votes.

Popovich led the Spurs to the league’s best record of 62-20, all the while managing minutes for Tim Duncan, Manu Ginobili and Tony Parker, San Antonio’s trio of stars over the age of 30. With Rick Adelman‘s retirement Monday, Popovich is the NBA’s active career wins leader, having racked up 967 regular season victories since taking over the team in the middle of the 1996/97 season.

Last year’s Coach of the Year, George Karl, found himself out of a job in the offseason, but that almost certainly won’t happen with Popovich, who’s firmly ensconced in the Spurs organization. He’s the NBA’s longest-tenured coach by more than a decade.

Leave a Reply

4 Comments on "Gregg Popovich Wins Coach Of The Year"

Notify of

Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted
2 years 4 months ago

Should have been Thibs. Love Pops, though.

2 years 4 months ago

62-20 record there is a type

2 years 4 months ago

Correct … It’s 62-20, not 62-18, as I originally had it. Thanks!


[…] has had both the Executive of the Year and the Coach of the Year. Popovich won this year’s Coach of the Year honors last month, while Ujiri and George Karl pulled off the double for the Nuggets in 2012/13. […]

Get the hottest NBA news and rumors before anyone else! Follow us on Twitter to stay updated: