Giannis Antetokounmpo Named Defensive Player Of The Year

Bucks star Giannis Antetokounmpo has been named the NBA’s Defensive Player of the Year for the 2019/20 season, the league confirmed today in a press release. Antetokounmpo’s win was first reported by Chris Haynes of Yahoo Sports.

Antetokounmpo helped anchor a Milwaukee defense that ranked first in the NBA by a comfortable margin, with a 102.5 rating. The reigning MVP, who routinely guarded all five positions, averaged one steal and one block per game to go along with 11.4 DRPG, and opponents shot just 36.2% when he was the primary defender, per

Antetokounmpo, who is a strong favorite to win this year’s MVP award as well, received 75 of 100 possible first-place votes, beating out Lakers big man Anthony Davis and Jazz center Rudy Gobert for DPOY honors. Davis (14 first-place votes) was the runner-up, while Gobert (six first-place votes) finished third after winning the award in each of the last two seasons.

Here are the full results of the 2019/20 Defensive Player of the Year voting, according to the NBA’s announcement:

  1. Antetokounmpo, Bucks (432 points)
  2. Davis, Lakers (200)
  3. Gobert, Jazz (187)
  4. Ben Simmons, Sixers (32)
  5. Bam Adebayo, Heat (17)
  6. Patrick Beverley, Clippers (7)
  7. Marcus Smart, Celtics (7)
  8. Andre Drummond, Pistons/Cavaliers (5)
  9. Kawhi Leonard, Clippers (5)
  10. Brook Lopez, Bucks (4)
  11. Hassan Whiteside, Trail Blazers (3)
  12. Jarrett Allen, Nets (1)

Besides Antetokounmpo, Davis, and Gobert, the other players receiving first-place votes were Simmons, Adebayo (two), Beverley, and Drummond.

Photo courtesy of USA Today Sports Images.

View Comments (10)