Players Who Can’t Be Traded Until January 15

As we detailed earlier, players who signed new contracts as free agents during the 2019/20 league year can’t be traded for three months or until December 15, whichever comes later. That means that every team has at least one player – and generally a handful – who won’t become trade-eligible until mid-December.

There’s also a small subset of free agent signees whose trade ineligibility lasts for an extra month. These players all meet a specific set of criteria: Not only did they re-sign with their previous team this offseason, but they got a raise of at least 20%, their salary is worth more than the minimum, and their team was over the cap, using Bird or Early Bird rights to sign them.

Listed below are the players who meet this criteria and can’t be traded until at least January 15, 2020. We’ll continue to update this page over the next few months, if necessary.

Boston Celtics

Chicago Bulls

Dallas Mavericks

Golden State Warriors

Houston Rockets

Los Angeles Clippers

Los Angeles Lakers

Milwaukee Bucks

New Orleans Pelicans

Orlando Magic

Philadelphia 76ers

Phoenix Suns

San Antonio Spurs

Washington Wizards

Information from Basketball Insiders was used in the creation of this post.

Photo courtesy of USA Today Sports Images.

View Comments (2)